Mitosis Stages To help understand how mitosis works I created a moble of each stage using amigurumi and embroidery. The colors were to represent the historical part of the paper and to show how far we have gotten to understand mitosis. Amigurumi is a Japanese style of crocheting small aminal, dolls, or any 3D object. This art style came to the United States in the early 2000s. This style of crochet was not easy for it takes a lot of focus but it’s fun a single ball took about 5 hrs to complete for you are using small hooks and yarn so that there are no gaps, a quick side note I’m not that good at embroidery so that’s another reason why it took a while. Each part is made separately and match the shape of a drawn moble of the mitosis stages. The navy blue is the chromosome of the cell which is why they move and change size long with shape in each step. The purple represents the Microtubule and spindles which are contented to the pole, the pole is the top of the shaper where the string is coming out of. Green is the chromatin which may be hard to see for its fabric makers. Centrioles are colored blue where the nuclei are light blue embroidery thread and the yellow is the nucleus. This piece of art was fun and creative to do I had to make my own pattern for the anaphases and the telophase which help mater with my amigurumi.

One Comment